Skip to product information
1 of 1


John Coltrane - Both Directions At Once: The Lost Album (Deluxe Version) 2LP

Regular price €28,00 EUR
Regular price €49,00 EUR Sale price €28,00 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Double vinyl LP pressing. Deluxe version including seven bonus alternate takes of some of the tracks from the standard edition. 2018 archive release. Unknown until 2004 and unheard until now, these recordings by the John Coltrane Quartet are, as Sonny Rollins says in the liner notes, like finding a new room in the Great Pyramid. Featuring the Classic Quartet - John Coltrane, McCoy Tyner, Jimmy Garrison and Elvin Jones - and recorded at the end of a two-week run at Birdland, the music on this album represents one of the most influential groups in music history both performing in a musical style it had perfected and reaching in new, exploratory directions that were to affect the trajectory of jazz from that point forward.


Side A
1. Untitled Original 11383 [Take 01]
2. Nature Boy
3. Untitled Original 11386 [Take 01]
4. Vilia [Take 03]

Side B
1. Impressions  [Take 03]
2. Slow Blues
3. One Up One Down [Take 1]

Side C
1. Vilia [Take 05]
2. Impressions [Take 01]
3. Impressions [Take 02]
4. Impressions [Take 04]

Side D
1. Untitled Original 11386 [Take 02]
2. Untitled Original 11386 [Take 05]
3. One Up, One Down  [Take 06]